2024 IEEE Conference on Cognitive and Computational Aspects
of Situation Management (CogSIMA)

May 7-10, 2024 | Montréal, Canada

Photo by Matthias Mullie on Unsplash

Organizing Committee

General Chair
Elisa Shahbazian
OODA Technologies Inc.,

General Co-Chair
Melita Hadzagic
OODA Technologies Inc.

Honorary Chair
Gabriel Jakobson
CyberGem Consulting,
Local Chair
Jeremy Cooperstock
McGill University

Finance Chair
Ken Baclawski
Northeastern University,
TPC Co-Chair
Galya Rogova
The State University of New York at Buffalo, USA

TPC Co-Chair
Alicia Ruvinsky

TPC Co-Chair
Tom Ziemke, Linköping University, Sweden

Industry Liaison
Michael Kozak
Lockheed Martin,

IEEE/IEEE SMC Liaison Co-Chair
Enrique Herrera-Viedma
University of Granada,

IEEE/IEEE SMC Liaison Co-Chair
Giancarlo Fortino
University of Calabria,

CAN Gov DND Liaison Chair
Andre Dupuis
Space Strategies Consulting Ltd,

CogSIMA Steering Committee Chair
Scott Fouse
Independent Consultant,

Publicity / Keynote
Kellyn Rein
Fraunhofer Gesellschaft, Germany

Tutorial Chair
Andrea Salfinger
University of Udine,

Publication Chair
Benito Mendoza
New York City College of Technology (CityTech),

Technical Program Committee

Dave Braines, IBM UK Ltd, United Kingdom (Great Britain), Dave Braines
Jin-Hee Cho, Virginia Tech, USA, Jin-Hee Cho
Nancy Cooke, Arizona State University, USA, Nancy Cooke
Giuseppe D'Aniello, University of Salerno, Italy, Giuseppe D'Aniello
Natalia Derbentseva, Defence R&D Canada, Canada, Natalia Derbentseva
Patricia Dockhorn Costa, Federal University of Espirito Santo, Brazil, Patricia Dockhorn Costa
Valentina Dragos, ONERA, France, Valentina Dragos
Varun Dutt, Indian Institute of Technology, Mandi, India, Varun Dutt
Göran Falkman, University of Skövde, Sweden, Göran Falkman
Jesus Garcia, Universidad Carlos III de Madrid, Spain, Jesus Garcia
Georg Hägele, Husqvarna Group, Sweden, Georg Hägele
Mieczyslaw Kokar, Northeastern University, USA, Mieczyslaw Kokar
Achim Kuwertz-Wolf, Fraunhofer IOSB & Fraunhofer Institute of Optronics, System Technologies and Image Exploitation (IOSB), Germany, Achim Kuwertz-Wolf
Kathryn Laskey, George Mason University, USA, Kathryn Laskey
Christian Lebiere, Carnegie Mellon University, USA, Christian Lebiere
Gaëlle Lortal, Thales R&T, France, Gaëlle Lortal
Dalila B. Megherbi, Unversity of Massachusetts, Lowell, USA, Dalila B. Megherbi
Patrick Philipp, University of Applied Sciences Koblenz, Germany, Patrick Philipp
Arezoo Sarkheyli-Hägele, Malmö universitet, Sweden, Arezoo Sarkheyli-Hägele
David Schuster, San Jose State University, USA, David Schuster
Alexander Smirnov, SPIIRAS, Russia, Alexander Smirnov
Lauro Snidaro, University of Udine, Italy, Lauro Snidaro
Dirk Soeffker, University Duisburg-Essen, Germany, Dirk Soeffker
Alan N. Steinberg, Alan Steinberg, Independent Consultant, USA, Alan N. Steinberg
Pontus Svenson, RISE, Sweden, Pontus Svenson
Krishnaprasad Thirunarayan, Wright State University, USA, Krishnaprasad Thirunarayan
Robert Thomson, United States Military Academy & Army Cyber Institute, USA, Robert Thomson
Risto Vaarandi, Tallinn University of Technology, Estonia, Risto Vaarandi
Rob Vingerhoeds, ISAE-SUPAERO, France, Rob Vingerhoeds
Chen Zhong, University of Tampa, USA, Chen Zhong


May 10: We thank our speakers, attendees and organizing team for making CogSIMA 2024 happen! Please stay tuned for CogSIMA 2025 in Duisburg, Germany!

May 10: We thank our sponsors and patrons IEEE, IEEE Systems, Man and Cybernetics Society, ISIF, and OODA Technologies Inc.!
May 8: Venue update - on May 9 - 10, the conference events will take place in Arts W-120.
May 3: Venue updated - the main conference events will take place in Leacock 232.
Apr 18: We are pleased to announce keynotes by Dr. Kellyn Rein and Mr. Pete JW Saunders.
Apr 8: Tentative Program available.
Mar 28: Accommodations: CogSIMA 2024 group rates at Royal Victoria College (reserved for students, reservations due April 1) and Hôtel Le Cantlie Suites (reservations due April 8)
Mar 27: Paper acceptance notifications have been sent out.
Mar 06: We are thrilled to share that McGill Univ.'s user-centered design experts of the ADvanced AIRspace Usability (ADAIR) project will instruct a tutorial on Situation Awareness in the Design of Future Complex Systems.
Feb 29: We are excited to announce tutorials by renowned experts Prof. Péter Érdi on the cybernetics topic of feedback control, Prof. Prof. Galina Rogova on decision making under risk, and Alan Steinberg on context-sensitive information exploitation systems.
Feb 26: We are pleased to announce that Prof. Giancarlo Fortino (Univ. of Calabria, IT) will present a keynote address on "Situation-Aware Wearable Computing Systems".
Feb 5: Registration fees have been posted.
Oct 3: We are very happy to announce that the Technical Committee on Cognitive Situation Management has been recognized with the 2023 Most Active SMC Technical Committee Award Cybernetics at IEEE SMC 2023.


Sponsors and Patrons

IEEE logo
SMC logo

Mcgill university logo

OODA Technologies Inc.

Related Conferences & Organizations