Message from the General Chairs

We would like to warmly welcome you to the the 8th Intl. Symposium on Modeling and Optimization in Mobile, Ad Hoc, and Wireless Networks (WiOpt) and to the beautiful medieval city Avignon, named the City of the Popes, during May 31- June 4, 2010. The WiOpt 2010 conference, organized this year by INRIA Sophia-Antipolis and University of Avignon, has returned to the south of France, seven years after the first workshop took place at INRIA Sophia-Antipolis. This issue of the conference is again taking place in a city of rich cultural heritage. We look forward to your participation and hope you find the conference and workshops successful and scientifically exciting. Since it was created seven years ago, the WiOpt conference has become a leading international event in the networking area, highly ranked and with a high impact factor. In addition to the goal of offering a high scientific quality event, we aim at being economically accessible to a large public, and attractive in particular to students. WiOpt is financially independent of any scientific society and yet ever since its creation it has been supported and sponsored scientifically by the Control and System Society as well as the Information Theory Society of IEEE.

We thank these sponsors as well as Alcatel-Lucent, Cambridge University Press, EuroNF, IFIP, Orange Labs, PerAda and Technicolor. The proceedings of WiOpt 2010 (and hopefully the future editions as well) will be accessible at IEEE Xplore but will remain at the same time open. Just as the proceedings of the first edition of WiOpt, which are accessible at they will be available on the Hal open archives.

Our special thanks go to the organizing committee who made this event possible: Tania Jimenez, David Gesbert, Tijani Chahed, Claudio Cicconetti, Dinesh Kumar, Nelson Vicuna and Agnes Cortell; to the program committee chaired by Ariel Orda, Nidhi Hegde and Lavy Libman, who assembled and provided this excellent program, along with the workshop chairs and program committees.

We hope that WiOpt 2010 will be a very rewarding and positive experience for everyone. Moreover, we hope you find time to enjoy all the attractions and activities that Avignon and its beautiful surrounding areas have to offer.

Anthony Ephremides (University of Maryland), General Chair
Eitan Altman (INRIA) and Rachid El-Azouzi (University of Avignon), General Co-Chairs

Message from the Program Chairs

Welcome to Avignon for the 8th International Symposium on Modeling and Optimization in Mobile, Ad Hoc, and Wireless Networks, a.k.a. WiOpt 2010. Following an already well established tradition, this year's WiOpt continues to provide a venue for high-quality technical papers coming from a rich range of research disciplines, all focusing on wireless networking. The topics covered by the program appear to be an excellent sample of the issues and directions being tackled in state-of-the-art research.

We received 112 papers, of which 37 were accepted, i.e., the acceptance rate was 33%. The papers were selected by a rigorous review process that involved 86 TPC members from a wide variety of academic, industrial and research organizations around the globe. With very few exceptions, each paper was assigned for review to three TPC members. After the completion of the review round, we considered each paper and set of reviews, additional reviews were conducted wherever needed, and then the final acceptance decisions were made. Several top-ranking papers have been chosen for fast-track publication in Elsevier's Journal of Computer Networks and in a special issue of Elsevier's Performance Evaluation. One paper has been selected to be the recipient of WiOpt 2010 Best Paper Award, and another paper has been selected to be the recipient of WiOpt 2010 Best Student Paper Award. The winners shall be announced in the opening session. A few of the papers that could not be accepted for the conference have been identified to be interesting work-in-progress reports and were forwarded to the Workshops Chair for consideration.

In addition to our satisfaction with the high quality of the program, we are also very pleased to include keynote talks of three distinguished leaders in wireless networking, namely Eytan Modiano (MIT), Shlomo Shamai (Technion), and Jean Walrand (UC Berkeley).

We thank all the TPC members for their hard work. In addition, we are grateful for the help provided by the Organizing Committee. Special thanks are due to Eitan Altman, who was always there for help and advice. We would like to thank also Tony Ephremides and Rachid El-Azouzi for their thorough help and support, Tania Jimenez for being always ready to assist with web- related issues, Tijani Chahed for his devoted help with regard to the publication process, David Gesbert for coordinating between the symposium's program and the workshops, and Claudio Cicconetti, Dinesh Kumar and Nelson Vicua for helping with publicity issues. We are grateful to the TPC Chairs of WiOpt 2009, Sae-Young Chung, Muriel Medard and Daniele Miorandi, for sharing with us their wisdom and experience. Finally, we are indebted to the papers' authors, for choosing WiOpt as the venue for the publication of their recent, hard-obtained research results.

We wish everyone an enjoyable and enriching experience at Avignon!

Ariel Orda (Technion), TPC Chair
Nidhi Hegde (Orange Labs) and Lavy Libman (University of Sydney), TPC Co-Chairs

Message from the Workshops Chair

One of the many elements behind the success of the WiOpt conference has traditionally been its association with a series of independent workshops held immediately before or after the general conference program. The workshops format give the unique opportunity to explore recent progress in a few selected hot areas related to wireless networking, in small groups and convivial atmosphere. This year, five workshops are organized, with two being held on the 31st May and three on June 4th, addressing respectively issues related to network measurements, network cooperation, spatial network modeling, resource allocation, and dynamic networks. Each one features a dense program focussing on recent results and combining submitted and invited papers. Oral presentations by world-renowned keynote speakers will add further to the excitement.

As Chair of Workshops, I would like to personally thank the organizers of each workshop foir their efforts in putting together the nice programs. Big thanks go to Henrik Lundgren and Tristan Henderson for organizing the WiNMee workshop, Eduard Jorswieck and Corinne Touati for the WNC3 workshop, Edmund Yeh and Steven Weber for the SpaSWiN workshop, Slawomir Stanczak for the RAWNET workshop and Eric Fleury, Jose Alvarez-Hamelin and Artur Ziviani for their involvement in the WDN workshop.

The public will also truly appreciate the presence of Dina Katabi (MIT), Ana Perez-Neira (CTTC Barcelona, Spain), Piyush Gupta (Bell Labs, Alcatel-Lucent), Holger Boche (TU Berlin), Michael Gastpar (UC Berkeley) and Renaud Lambiotte (Imperial College) who have accepted to give the keynote lectures at these workshops.

I wish all attendees a great time in Avignon.

David Gesbert (Eurecom), Workshops Chair